Australia Awardees from the Solomon Islands meet with Ms Kristina Sogavare
October 3, 2014
On Friday 26 September, Ms Estelle Parker, A/g State Director, DFAT Victoria State Office hosted a lunch for Ms Kristina Sogavare, chair of the Solomon Islands Young Women’s Parliamentary Group, to meet Victoria-based Australia Awards scholarship recipients from the Solomon Islands. 12 scholars attended the lunch from the University of Melbourne, Monash University, Victoria University and RMIT. Ms Sogavare was visiting Australia as a guest of the Australian Government under its Special Visits Program.
Kristina Sogavare discussed her role as Chair of the Solomon Islands Young Women’s Parliamentary Group and the recipients discussed the reasons behind the lack of female representation in Solomon Islands’ Parliament. Other topics that were discussed included the need for greater education in Solomon Islands, corruption and transparency in government, strengthening civil society and how to reduce violence against women. 
Kristina urged the Australia Awards Scholarship recipients to take what they have learned in Australia back to Solomon Islands to create a better and stronger country back home.
The scholarship recipients expressed appreciation for the support provided by DFAT. 
DFAT’s Victoria State Office plans to engage with more Australia Awards recipients in the future, putting them in touch with visitors from their own countries, as well as Australian Ambassadors and High Commissioners posted to their countries, to help build people-to-people links with and between tomorrow’s leaders who are studying in Victoria.
Last updated: October 7, 2014