Australia Awards Categories
The Australia Awards aim to promote knowledge, education links and enduring ties between Australia and our neighbours through Australia's extensive scholarship programs.
The Australia Awards initiative will, over time, build a new generation of global leaders with strong links between Australia and the world.
Australia Awards are a whole-of-government initiative bringing together scholarships and fellowships administered by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade the Department of Education and the Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR).

Australia Awards Scholarships (administered by DFAT)

Australia Awards Scholarships managed by the Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade contribute to the long-term objectives of developing countries to promote growth and stability. They equip recipients with the skills and knowledge to drive change and contribute to the economic and social development of their own countries.
Australia Awards Scholarships provide opportunities for full-time undergraduate or postgraduate study at Australian institutions. They are awarded each year to citizens of participating countries from Asia, the Pacific, Middle East and Africa. Award recipients are required to return home for two years after they have completed their studies, so they can contribute to the development  of their country.

Australia Awards Fellowships (administered by DFAT)


Australia Awards Fellowships offer Australian organisations, from all sectors, the opportunity to deepen and broaden their links with leaders and professionals in developing countries.   
By providing opportunities for Fellows to undertake short term study and professional development in Australia, they aim to:
•strengthen partnerships and links between Australian organisatons and partner organisations in developing countries, in support of Australia's economic diplomacy objectives; and
•increase the capacity of developing countries to advance priority foreign affairs and development issues of shared interest at the country, sub regional and regional levels.   
Application rounds are held once a year through a competitive selection process.

Australia Awards Pacific Scholarships (administered by DFAT)

Australia Awards Pacific Scholarships provide people from Pacific developing countries with opportunities to study at selected education institutions in the Pacific region.  The purpose of the Australia Awards Pacific Scholarships is to give people the opportunity to gain and build the knowledge and skills to drive positive change, and influence their home country’s development.

Australia Awards–Endeavour Scholarships and Fellowships, and Australia Awards–Endeavour Mobility Grants (administered by the Department of Education and Training)

The Department of Education and Training's Australia Awards–Endeavour Scholarships and Fellowships and Australia Awards–Endeavour Mobility Grants support two-way engagement between Australia and the rest of the world. The scholarship and grants provide life changing opportunities for Australian and overseas students and professionals to access learning and research opportunities globally.
Endeavour Scholarships and Fellowships are merit-based, providing opportunities for citizens around the world to undertake study, research or professional development in Australia and for Australians to do the same overseas. The Endeavour Scholarships and Fellowships aim to build Australia’s reputation for excellence in the provision of education and research, support the internationalisation of the Australian higher education and research sectors and offer high-achieving individuals from overseas and Australia opportunities to increase their productivity and expertise in their field.
Endeavour Mobility Grants support Australian undergraduate, postgraduate and vocational education and training students to have an international study experience that contributes to their Australian qualification. Through short-term study, practicums, clinical placements, internships, and volunteer projects, students are able to immerse themselves into the academic and social cultures in all regions, strengthening their global knowledge and experience.

Australia Awards Fellowships (administered by ACIAR)

The two Australian Centre for International Agricultural Research (ACIAR) Fellowships - the John Allwright Fellowship and the John Dillon Memorial Fellowship - are aimed  at building capacity of agricultural research.   
The John Allwright Fellowship is focused on postgraduate studies that are based on research work being carried out under a collaborative research project in which the awardee is engaged prior to taking up the award.    
The John Dillon Memorial Fellowship  aims to develop leadership skills in the areas of agricultural research management, agricultural policy and/or extension technologies. This is achieved by providing exposure to Australian agriculture across a range of best-practice organisations involved in research, extension and/or policy making. Eight to ten Fellowships are offered annually.

Australia Awards recipient Bernard Mwansa at an Australia Awards Leadership forum at Parliament House Canberra



 Australia Awards recipients Miss Rosmawati , Bao Tran Huynh and Karen Alexandria at an Australia Awards Professional Development workshop in Sydney                     



Graduation celebrations at the Fiji School of Medicine for Australia Awards Pacific Scholars from seven Pacific countries.












Last updated: August 1, 2016